Tags

, , , , ,

ser·en·dip·i·ty n       a natural gift for making useful discoveries by accident

My favorite word, for a reason. This natural power, or gift as it were, has defined my life in many ways. It has allowed me to find the things I’ve needed that I didn’t even know I was looking for. It has presented to me the best aspects of my life, the things that have made it livable. Without serendipity there is drudgery, pain and desperation.

Serendipity is how I found Vassar, which helped me to find my way. It put me on a path that altered my life, changed how I think and opened my eyes to a new way of viewing the world. It was my awakening and put me on my path to becoming.

Serendipity has placed me in the proverbial right place at the right time. Has helped me to meet people I needed to meet in order to make a move or a change in my life. It has helped me to find the job, the place to live, or the motivation to initiate a needed change. Serendipity has helped me to get unstuck when I feel I am in a rut and find myself digging deeper rather than climbing out.

Often, I can sense serendipity coming upon me because I find a sudden sense of balance, and peace. When a situation presents itself and I find myself at ease and comforted even in unfamiliar territory, I know I have stumbled upon the thing I need, that has been waiting for me the whole time.

For me, serendipity is that old familiar feeling that somehow everything is going to be OK because no matter how bad things might get there is a happy accident waiting to be discovered.

What’s your favorite word? How does it fit into your life?

