Tags

, ,

hiatus |hīˈātəs|

noun ( pl. -tuses ) [usu. in sing. ]

a pause or gap in a sequence, series, or process : there was a brief hiatus in the war with France.

Sometimes writers don’t write. It is an unfortunate truth. The ugly secret we try to keep hidden in a deep drawer or a dark closet.

Sometimes we want to write but can’t. Or life somehow gets in the way and writing moves to the back burner. Sometimes there are circumstances beyond one’s control or a series of events that one must be fully present for with the knowledge that much of it will be written about at a later time. Sometimes there is writer’s block…or worse…excuses.

I am not fond of labeling.

In advertising we give things names…we brand.

In the world of mental health we categorize…we diagnose.

Here I will do a bit of both, and call my absence a hiatus.

In television our favorite shows go on hiatus during the summer, leaving us with reruns. But rather than see that as a negative, I see it as an opportunity to catch up on episodes I may have missed or to take a peek at a show I ignored due to loyalty to a series that aired simultaneously.

The issue is with simultaneous loyalty. You can’t be in two places at once. Multitasking can go just so far. There are times when being fully present is absolutely necessary and having one eye on the computer screen or iPhone just won’t work.

It doesn’t mean I am not writing at all, just not enough, or not completely. I have notebooks with notes and ideas, pieces that need to be put together…when I have the time…find the time…make the time…

Now’s the time…

Has this happened to you? Has life gotten in the way of your writing? How did you get back on track?

