Tags

, , , ,

it’s the official end of summer. school starts on wednesday. leaves are already falling from the tree in my neighbor’s yard. the sun is putting out the light earlier and my mind is wandering toward fall.

my son went to camp for the first time this summer. he signed up for his first library card. he checked out his first chapter book last week and read it to me in a day. he will be starting kindergarten this year…

he is my baby. or i guess i should say he was. i’m excited for him to be starting school but part of me is mindful of what this means…he is growing up! my role in his life is changing. he does not need me in the same way.

all day this thought floated through my mind as i watched him running outside with his friends. that toddler essence is gone. he is 5 and runs like a big kid. as i watched them playing and chasing the golden leaves as they fluttered to the ground one of the first poems i ever learned surfaced from a deep corner of my brain. i call this poem a heart poem because i know it so well. i’m sure many of you know it. here it is:

Nothing Gold Can Stay
by Robert Frost

Nature’s first green is gold,
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leafs a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf.
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day.
Nothing gold can stay.

Do you have a heart poem? When did you learn it? Why?

