Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Making the decision to have a child is momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.”  – Elizabeth Stone

today my son started Kindergarten. we walked there together, met his teacher, explored the classroom and made a few new friends. we were there for only an hour. a meet and greet. after we went out to eat. he requested “a fancy lunch date, just you and me mommy.” we had a great time talking about his new teacher and the fact that he is a big boy now.

tomorrow he will have a half day. he will take the school bus…and i will exhale when he returns at noon.

so, tonight i do not have much to say. no writer’s block, just lost in thought. i remind myself writers are writing even when the pen is not touching the page.

i will close this post early and leave you with a simple poem written when my son first learned how to pedal his tricycle.

“I’m doing it,”
he shouted with glee
and the baby who got on the bike
became the big boy who pedaled away from me!

do you have children? tell me about when they first went to day care, kindergarten, high school, first date…

