Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans…
— John Lennon

I’ve been thinking about this quote lately.

here i am a mom of two trying to get my writing chops back. but once upon a time i had a dream of working my way up the ad world ladder. writing great copy and writing on the side. getting a book or two published while living the high life in NYC.

marriage, kids and living outside of the city were never on my radar.

then i met someone and much to my own surprise i said yes when he proposed. then i shocked myself again but saying yes to moving out of NYC. we lived in VA for a year. i become a freelance copywriter. we made wonderful, lasting friendships. we moved back to NYC. we had great jobs and an awesome apartment. we were involved in the city culturally…socially…completely. it was my city and he was learning to make it his as well. we planned to live a long life there…

then 9/11 happened and changed everyone’s life.

lives were lost. jobs were lost. the city was changed. perceptions were changed. plans were changed…

we moved out of the city and bought a sweet (read cozy/small), 1930s center hall colonial. i went back to school (career change!?). we had a baby. we moved my mother closer to us so i could help care for her. my mother died. i graduated. we sold the house. we bought a bigger house. we had another baby. we separated after our son was born.

suddenly, i was a single mom with a 3 1/2 year old and a newborn embarking on a new life and a new career! i worked. i juggled. I moved. i cried. i moved. i multi-tasked. i moved. i dated. i moved (a lot). i quit my job. i figured some things out. i’ve learned to embrace change. i am finding my way back to writing….to myself…to my relationship (maybe?)…to things i want (not to be confused with things i’ve planned).

The only thing constant in life is change.
  — François de la Rochefoucauld

so are you living the life you had planned? did you sit down one day and write down all the things you would do, who you would be, where you would go? are you on track or have you taken some detours? please share your thoughts…

