Tags

, , , ,

“Why in the world would anybody put chains on me?
I’ve paid my dues to make it
Everybody wants me to be, what they want me to be
I’m not happy when I try to fake it, no

That’s why I’m easy
Easy like Sunday morning”

–Lionel Richie

good morning readers, I have missed you. life has thrown a few challenges my way. i learned that while the hurricane did not physically hurt me, it has financially. so i have been scrambling for work…projects…etc. i’ve been very focused on (and dare i say stressed about) finding work and have missed my blog community greatly.

easy like sunday morning…

so today i woke up with that song “in my ear.”  i am pretty sure it is because of this stepped up work search. there are some in my life who would like me to “take anything that pays well.” but there is a commitment that goes with taking a job. and i don’t want to commit myself to something i hate…again!

“Most men lead lives of quiet desperation and go to the grave with the song still in them.”

― Henry David Thoreau, Civil Disobedience and Other Essays: Collected Essays of Henry David Thoreau

there is a lot to be said for liking what you do and doing what you like. work shouldn’t be awful, especially since it takes up so much of your time/life. so many work to pay the bills and are mostly miserable. i’d prefer not to live a life of quiet desperation if i can avoid it.

so it’s sunday and i am not making calls, having meetings or sending resumes. i am taking it easy and trying to give myself the opportunity to think with clarity and good judgment. looking forward to a mellow day before a busy week.

i hope today is easy like sunday morning for you too!

tell me about times you felt pushed to do something you know was wrong for you. a time when others tried to thrust their expectations upon you…

