Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

as a parent i explain to my children that there are no monsters. sometimes i have to check under the bed and in the closet at bedtime just so they will feel safe and go to sleep. but each day the news proves me wrong. each day the news offers new evidence, more proof, that there are monsters in this world, but not under the bed!

mass shootings in schools, movie theatres, and malls. people shot on NYC streets and pushed in front of subway trains.

each day grief upon grief. tragedy. devastation. unfathomable sorrow.

“We’ve endured too many of these tragedies in the past few years, and each time I learn the news, I react not as a President, but as anyone else would — as a parent. And that was especially true today,” Obama said. “I know there’s not a parent in America who does not feel the same overwhelming grief as I do.”

tearful Obama

“Our hearts are broken today,” Obama added.

yes, we are a nation of broken hearts due to this unbelievable tragedy. it is time to work together as a nation to mend, to heal…to change.

i send prayers, hope and strength to the town of Newtown, CT and the families whose lives have been shattered by this unspeakable act.

and wonder, how do i help my children to feel safe when there is no place safe?

